Guy’s Cliffe is a stunning Grade II listed ruin with a long, and tumultuous past. It has been:

  • Pre-historic site of triple Scientific Interest from the Triassic period
  • An ancient Oratory in 600 AD
  • A 10th Century Hermitage for Guy of Warwick
  • Home for Secular Priests in 11th Century
  • Links to Piers Gaveston who was executed in 1312
  • Owned by various Earls of Warwick through the ages, including Felice’s father
  • Site was valued by Henry VIII.  Subsequently the 15th Century Chantry managed to escape the Dissolution of Monasteries
  • Site passed from family to family between 1500 and 1750
  • Site purchased by Samuel Greatheed in 1750
  • 1898 large extension to the house was Built 
  • 1915 house was lent by the Percy family to the Red Cross as an Auxiliary Hospital called Guys Cliffe Hospital
  • 1939 the house was vacated and used as a Boys Home for evacuees unti 1945
  • 1946 Sale of furniture and household effects. Chapel and grounds purchased by a property company for a proposed hotel
  • 1952 Hotel project shelved and the site was purchased by Building contractor. Further decimation and sale of fixtures and fittings 
  • 1955 Purchased by Aldwyn F Porter with the aim of building a private dwelling
  • 1975 Leased to Trustees of St. George Lodge and Friends of Guys Cliffe was formed
  • 1983 Purchased by Guys Cliffe Masonic Properties.  Renovation to 15th Century Chapel and Rooms
  • 1992 Major fire gutted what remained of the house during filming of a TV episode of Sherlock Holmes
  • 1999 Chapel of St. Mary Magdalene, Guys Cave Hermitage, other rock chambers – Listed Monument Grade II.  Visit by Prime Minister of St. Kitts and Nevis